RHS announces prestigious awards list

The Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) has announced the recipients of its esteemed annual awards for contributions to horticulture. Presented at a ceremony in London on 26th February, the RHS Awards will recognise both horticultural excellence and personal endeavour and are regarded internationally as being among the highest accolades in horticulture.

Gillian Barlow, Robert Berry, Neil Bragg, Fergus Garrett, Charles Nelson, Penny Snell and John Pilbeam will all be awarded the Veitch Memorial Medal for their outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science and practice of horticulture. All recipients have had an exceptional impact in their area of expertise.

Sarah Cook, Simon Goodenough, Robert Haslam and Sally Kington are to be awarded the RHS Associate of Honour, which is presented to British citizens who have rendered distinguished service to the practice of horticulture either as employers or employees throughout their career.

The Harlow Carr Medal, given to honour those who have made a significant contribution to horticulture in the North of England, goes to Helen Bainbridge of Fir Trees Pelargonium Nursery, North Yorkshire. Helen lectures on pelargoniums and has regularly staged flower show displays receiving Gold medals.

Also recognised during the ceremony will be those awarded the Master of Horticulture, the Society?s most prestigious professional horticultural qualification. This year?s graduates are as follows: Mike van den Berg, Teija Ahjokoski, Tom Brown, Chris Day, Patrick Gardner, Ben Johnson, Paul Kettell, Philip Moreau, Harry Mycock, Michael Myers, Gemma Neech, Jenny Pitts, John McConnell and Cara Smith.

The Lawrence Medal, awarded annually for the best exhibit shown to the Society during the year will be announced at the ceremony on 26th February. The seven nominees are Birmingham City Council, Drointon Nurseries, Medwyn?s of Anglesey, Pheasant Acre Plants, R A Scamp Quality Daffodils, South West in Bloom, and Vacherot & Lecoufle.

RHS President Sir Nicholas Bacon said: ?I would like to offer my congratulations to everyone receiving an award. It is an honour to be able to recognise the extraordinary contribution that these individuals and organisations have made to horticulture.?

Other awards bestowed include the Jones-Bateman Cup, the Holford Medal, the Anthony Huxley Trophy, the Colin Spires Herb Trophy and the Williams Memorial Medal.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.